Providing Economic, Community, and Workforce Development Services.

Elected Officials

The Kalispell City Council consists of eight (8) City Councilors and the Mayor. The Council is responsible for City legislative activities including: enactment of ordinances, establishment of policy and levels of service, adoption of the budget, setting service fees and appropriating money to fund the city’s programs and services. The Mayor presides at all Council meetings and is a voting member of Council.

The Kalispell City Council meets on the first and third Monday of each month in regular session at 7:00 p.m. in the City Council Chambers of City Hall.

City Officials

Name Office Term Began Term Ends
Mark Johnson Mayor Jan 2014 Dec 2017
Kari Gabriel Council Member/Council President – Ward 1 Jan 2004 Dec 2019
Sandy Carlson Council Member – Ward 1 Jan 2014 Dec 2017
Wayne Saverud Council Member – Ward 2 Mar 2007 Dec 2019
Chad Graham Council Member – Ward 2 Jan 2014 Dec 2017
Jim Atkinson Council Member – Ward 3 Jan 1988 Dec 2017
Rod Kuntz Council Member – Ward 3 2014 Dec 2019
Tim Kluesner Council Member – Ward 4 Jul 2005 Dec 2017
Phil Guiffrida Council Member – Ward 4 Jan 2012 Dec 2019
Contact the Council and Mayor at:
P.O. Box 1997
312 1st Avenue East
Kalispell, MT 59901


Flathead County

Flathead County is served by three commissioners. The Commissioners responsibilities include: budget issues, board appointments, zoning, rural special improvement districts, awarding of bids, and other duties.

Name Office Term Began
Phillip Mitchell Commissioner – District 1 Jan 2015
Pamela Holmquist Commissioner – District 2, Chairman Jan 2011
Gary Krueger Commissioner – District 3 Jan 2013
Contact the County Commissioners at:
800 South Main
Kalispell, MT 59901
Phone: (406) 758-5503
Fax (406) 758-5861


State of Montana

As established by the 1972 Montana Constitution, the Legislature consists of a Senate and a House of Representatives. Sessions take place every odd-numbered year and last for a maximum of 90 legislative days. Kalispell area legislators include:


U.S. Government

US Senator Steve Daines (R)
320 Hart Senate Office Building
Washington D.C. 20510
US Senator Jon Tester (D)
311 Hart Senate Office Building
Washington D.C. 20510
Congressman Ryan Zinke
113 Cannon House Office Building
Washington D.C. 20515


Other Helpful Links: